Just another WordPress.com weblog

Three words. My life was ruined in three words. It’s amazing how, with a single phrase, your world can come crashing down around you. Whoever said that words can never hurt you obviously never went through anything even close to what I did. Those three words: “Kimmie is dead,” changed my life forever.

When her brother told em, I was horrified. He said it was an accident, late at night. He said that she was crossing the street and the driver in the car hadn’t seen her. How strange that after being alive for 28 years, having to face decisions and hardships and trials and all the bad things in life, it was all over for her in a matter of minutes.

A few days later, I put on my best suit and bought a bouquet of white roses. I drove to the tiny street on the corner and went in. My footsteps echoed in the silent building. When people started flooding in, they swarmed around me. I could see their sympathetic expressions, I could see their lips moving, but I couldn’t hear them. Everything seemed gray, muted. After the funeral, I went up to see Kimmie one last time. I gazed at her pale skin, her perfect lips. Then, my gaze fell to her left hand, the silver ring inlaid with diamonds. I had held it together until now. I couldn’t stop the tears. I slipped off my own engagement ring and put it on her chest. Maybe she would remember me.

In three words, my perfect world came crashing down.

Comments on: "Depressing Story I Wrote In Five Minutes" (1)

  1. Oh, wow! It really great so far! It just drew me in…keep writing! I wish I had an imagination like you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

